About the Office of Faculty Affairs

The VCU Office of Faculty Affairs oversees the university’s promotion and tenure process, including providing tenure-eligible faculty with the tools to be successful in advancing their careers. The office develops and implements a universitywide mentorship program, strengthens professional development for department chairs and other academic leaders, oversees and develops faculty awards and completes other tasks associated with academic personnel issues. An integral part of Faculty Affairs, the Office of Faculty Recruitment and Retention (OFRR) leads initiatives to promote the hiring and retention of outstanding and diverse faculty members; the development, implementation and interpretation of faculty policies; the promotion and tenure process; and academic leadership development programs. The Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence (CTLE) works to provide a robust array of developmental experiences that prepare faculty to create and facilitate effective and evidence-based instruction to promote student success. 

Meet our team

Bassard headshot

Kathy Bassard, Ph.D.

Senior vice provost for faculty affairs

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-6162
Email: kcbassar@vcu.edu

View Kathy's biography and CV

 

Jenn Arce

Program coordinator, Office of Faculty Affairs

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-6162
Email: jmarce@vcu.edu

Aashir Nasim headshot cropped 

Aashir Nasim, Ph.D.

Interim vice provost for faculty affairs

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-1345
Email: anasim@vcu.edu

Amy Unger headshot 

Amy Unger

Executive director, faculty personnel administration

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-1484
Email: ajunger@vcu.edu

 

Enoch Hale, Ph.D.

Director, Teaching and learning excellence

1000 Floyd Avenue
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 827-2002
Email: ehale2@vcu.edu


Lynn Pelco headshot

Lynn Pelco, Ph.D.

Interim director for faculty development

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Email: lepelco@vcu.edu

 

Kathleen Blankenship

Human resources administrator

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-6844
Email: blankenshike@vcu.edu

 

Tiffany Freitas

Executive administrative assistant and event coordinator

1000 Floyd Avenue
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-1605
Email: freitast@vcu.edu

 

Danielle Hairston

Faculty recruitment administrator

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-3824
Email: dnhairston@vcu.edu

 Amy Armstrong VCU

Amy Armstrong, Ph.D.

Faculty Fellow, Department Chairs Leadership Program

Email: ajarmstr@vcu.edu

Jill Reid VCU 

Jill Reid

Faculty Fellow, Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence (CTLE)

Email: jdreid@vcu.edu

Cristina Stanciu VCU 

Cristina Stanciu, Ph.D.

Continuing Faculty Fellow for the Faculty Mentoring Program

Email: cstanciu@vcu.edu

 

Stephanie Jones

Student worker

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-6253
Email: jonessm25@mymail.vcu.edu

 

Levi Walter

Graduate student worker

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-6253
Email: walteren@vcu.edu