About the Office of Faculty Affairs

The VCU Office of Faculty Affairs oversees the university’s promotion and tenure process, including providing tenure-eligible faculty with the tools to be successful in advancing their careers. The office develops and implements a universitywide mentorship program, strengthens professional development for department chairs and other academic leaders, oversees and develops faculty awards and completes other tasks associated with academic personnel issues. An integral part of Faculty Affairs, the Office of Faculty Recruitment and Retention (OFRR) leads initiatives to promote the hiring and retention of outstanding and diverse faculty members; the development, implementation and interpretation of faculty policies; the promotion and tenure process; and academic leadership development programs. The Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence (CTLE) works to provide a robust array of developmental experiences that prepare faculty to create and facilitate effective and evidence-based instruction to promote student success. 

Meet our team

Gypsy Denzine VCU 

Gypsy Denzine, Ph.D.

Senior vice provost for faculty affairs

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-6162
Email: gmdenzine@vcu.edu

Tim Davey VCU

Timothy Davey, Ph.D.

Vice provost for faculty affairs

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-5948
Email: tdavey@vcu.edu

Amy Unger headshot 

Amy Unger

Executive director, faculty personnel administration

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-1484
Email: ajunger@vcu.edu

 

Jenn Arce

Program coordinator, Office of Faculty Affairs

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-6162
Email: jmarce@vcu.edu

Emily Avesian VCU headshot

Emily Avesian

Faculty search administrator

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-6827
Email: ejavesia@vcu.edu

 

Caitlin Bergendahl

Assistant director, Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence

1000 Floyd Ave.
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-3495
Email: cbergendahl@vcu.edu

 

Tiffany Freitas

Program coordinator, Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence

1000 Floyd Avenue
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-1605
Email: freitast@vcu.edu

Pam Hendrix VCU 

Pamela Hendrix

Program coordinator, Office of Faculty Recruitment and Retention

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-5948
Email: pahendrix@vcu.edu

 

Theresa Ronquillo, Ph.D.

Assistant director, Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence

1000 Floyd Avenue
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-8246
Email: tronquillo@vcu.edu

 

Kate Schmitz

Faculty recruitment administrator

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-3824
Email: schmitzks@vcu.edu

 

Stephanie Jones

Student worker

901 West Franklin Street
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2527
Phone: (804) 828-6253