Assessment Council

The University Assessment Council comprises representatives from dean's offices and select academic centers. The council has been in service since the fall of 2009.

The Assessment Council is charged to fulfill the goals of student learning outcomes assessment at VCU which include fostering, supporting and coordinating the following goals of student learning outcomes assessment at VCU:

  1. A culture of assessment that embodies continuous improvement
  2. Academic quality that is intentional and demonstrated through rigorous assessment processes and measured outcomes
  3. Academic programs using assessment findings to maintain and enhance student learning

Council members serve as liaisons between the school/college/academic center and academic affairs. Members ensure compliance, completion, and integrity of the learning outcomes assessment processes. Members are responsible for collaborating closely with academic affairs to monitor assessment planning, annual assessment reporting, and the administration of assessment plan improvement activities for programs in their unit. Council members provide advice, recommendations, and support for institutional level assessment planning and initiatives at VCU.

2020-2021 meeting schedule

DateTimeLocation
Aug. 7, 2020 9-10 a.m. Held via Zoom
Sept. 4, 2020 9-10 a.m. Held via Zoom
Oct. 2, 2020 9-10 a.m. Held via Zoom
Nov. 6, 2020 9-10 a.m. Held via Zoom
Dec. 4, 2020 9-10 a.m. Held via Zoom
Feb. 5, 2021 9-10 a.m. Held via Zoom
March 5, 2021 9-10 a.m. Ginter House, Room 221
April 1, 2021 9-10 a.m. TBD
May 7, 2021 9-10 a.m. Ginter House, Room 221

2020-21 Assessment Council roster

College of Engineering
Gregory Triplett, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean
getriplett@vcu.edu

College of Health Professions
Nicole Damico, Ph.D.
Vice Chair for Academic Affairs
damicosn@vcu.edu

College of Humanities and Sciences
Katherine Nash, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs
ksnash@vcu.edu

School of the Arts
James Wiznerowicz, Ph.D.
Interim Senior Associate Dean
jpwiznerowic@vcu.edu

School of Business
Carolyn Norman, Ph.D.
Chair for Department of Accounting
castrand@vcu.edu

School of Dentistry
Ellen Byrne, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean and Professor
bebyrne@vcu.edu

School of Education
Angela P Wetzel, Ph.D.
Director of Assessment
apwetzel@vcu.edu

Honors College
Jacqueline Smith-Mason, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean
jsmithmason@vcu.edu

L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs
Jill Gordon, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Academic and Faculty Affairs
jagordon@vcu.edu

School of Medicine
Mike Grotewiel, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Graduate Education
Michael.grotewiel@vcuhealth.org

School of Nursing
Debra Barksdale, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
djbarksdale@vcu.edu

School of Pharmacy
Cynthia Kirkwood, Ph.D.
Executive Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
ckkirkwo@vcu.edu

School of Social Work
Rebecca Gomez, Ph.D., LCSW
Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs
gomezr@vcu.edu

VCU Life Sciences
Stephen Fong, Ph.D.
Professor, Chemical and Life Science Engineering
ssfong@vcu.edu

University College
Virginia Totaro
Director of Assessment, Assistant Professor
vwtotaro@vcu.edu

Ex Officio

Office of the Provost
Deborah Noble-Triplett, Ph.D.
Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
nobletriplett@vcu.edu

Scott Oates, Ph.D.
Director, Academic Program Integrity and Assessment
sfoates@vcu.edu

Assessment Council minutes

Minutes from previous Assessment Council meetings can be found on our archived minutes webpage.